World Food Prize Winner

World Food Day 2018

16 October World Food Day

विश्व खाद्य दिवस 16 अक्टूबर 2018

World Food Day (WFD) was established by the member countries of FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization) in November 1979,


The theme of World Food Day 2017 – “Change the future of migration. Invest in food security and rural development”.

World Food Prize

The World Food Prizeis the foremost international honor recognizing without regard to race, religion, nationality, or political beliefs the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world.
The world food prize was founded in 1986 by Dr Norman E Borlaug recipient of the 1970 Nobel peace Prize.
Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1970 for his work in global agriculture, envisioned The prestigious US$250000  price is given annually to a person who has worked to advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. Over a 32 year existence the award has become known as the “Nobel Prize” for the “Food and Agriculture”.
World Food Prize 2018


Dr. Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro will receive the World Food Prize 2018 for their individual and complementary global leadership in elevating maternal and child undernutrition to a central issue within the food security and development dialogue at national and international levels.

World Food Prize 2017

Dr. Akinwumi Ayodeji Adesina
Dr. Akinwumi won the prestigious World Food Prize 2018 for his work to boost yields and farm incomes.
Indians who have got World Food Prize

Dr.Modadugu Gupta(2005)
DR. MODADUGU V. GUPTA WAS NAMED the 2005 World Food Prize Laureate for his exceptional achievement in enriching the diets and lives of the world’s most impoverished families.  As a prime architect of a “blue revolution” in Asia and around the globe,
Dr. Modadugu V. Gupta has increased the protein and mineral content in the diets of over one million of the world’s most impoverished families.

Dr Surinder K Vasal (2000)

The 2000 World Food Prize jointly honored Dr. Surinder Vasal and his colleague Dr. Evangelina Villegas for their combined efforts and achievements in breeding and advancing Quality Protein Maize to improve productivity and nutrition in malnourished and poverty-stricken areas worldwide.

B.R. Barwale  (1998)

THE 1998 RECIPIENT OF THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE, Badrinarayan Ramulal Barwale, has literally transformed the face of Indian agriculture during the past fifty years. Since the earliest days of Indian independence, this private farmer and entrepreneur has led the way in privatizing the development and distribution of high-yielding varieties and hybrid seeds. In the process, he has helped his countrymen achieve that which is fundamental to freedom — food security.

Dr Gurudev Singh khus (1996)

Dr. Gurdev Khush is a world renowned geneticist and is considered one of the heroes of the Green Revolution for his leadership in developing rice strains that enhanced the quality and quantity of the rice supply in countries facing unprecedented population growth. He shared the 1996 World Food Prize with his mentor

Dr Varghese Kurien  (1989)

Dr. Verghese Kurien received the 1989 World Food Prize was not a scientific discovery, but his recognition that feeding the world’s citizens includes coordinating breakthroughs in production with effective management and distribution strategies. Dr. Kurien’s career was dedicated to streamlining those strategies with the skills and knowledge of rural and small-scale producers, for which World Food Prize founder Dr. Norman Borlaug called him “one of the world’s great agricultural leaders of this century.”

M.S. Swaminathan  (1987)

Dr. Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan received the first World Food Prize in 1987 for spearheading the introduction of high-yielding wheat and rice varieties to India’s farmers. “The word ‘impossible’ exists mainly in our minds,” his father once told him, “but given the requisite will and effort, great tasks can be accomplished.” In a career dedicated to alleviating human suffering, Dr. Swaminathan has completed the work of many lifetimes, and, like his mentor and colleague Dr. Norman Borlaug, he is recognized as a leader in the world’s “Green Revolution.”


More Quiz Click Here
More Agriculture Study Click Here

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *